You are using an oudated version of Internet Explorer!   Upgrade your browser for a better experience

PCAT Names Baldwin 2015-2016 Statewide Bus Driver of the Year

Godley-ISD-PCAT-42-web.jpgGodley, Texas, January 6, 2016 — Eugene Baldwin, a retiree known for his spotless bus and an unfailingly positive attitude, was honored at the Godley ISD school board meeting on Wednesday, December 16, as the 2015-2016 Statewide Bus Driver of the Year by PCAT.

Now in its 12th year, the PCAT Bus Driver of the Year program recognized 70 Member drivers as their district’s 2015-2016 Bus Driver of the Year. These awards are based upon multiple driver attributes including Leadership, Attitude, Perseverance, Student and Parent Relationships, and Technical Skill. Of the 70 District honorees, five drivers were named 2015-2016 PCAT Regional Bus Drivers of the Year. This designation, reserved for a smaller group of District Bus Driver of the Year recipients, represents an even higher level of dedication and accomplishment.

Godley-ISD-PCAT-56-web.jpgMr. Baldwin was presented with the 2015-2016 PCAT Statewide Bus Driver of the Year award. This designation is awarded to one PCAT school district bus driver and represents the highest level of dedication and accomplishment.  
Baldwin was presented with a $1,000 check, a personalized jacket, a commendation and an engraved plaque from the PCAT Bus Driver of the Year program.

PCAT agent Carl Smith of Scarbrough, Medlin & Associates and PCAT Representative Aaron Ramsey presented Mr. Baldwin with the award.  Baldwin was both surprised and very appreciative, saying with a big grin, “I still can’t hardly believe it’s true.” He went on to explain how much it meant to him to be a bus driver and how much the kids meant to him.

“Bus drivers set the tone for learning,” said PCAT representative Neil Gately. “The driver is often the first school representative the students see each morning, and the last one they see in the afternoon. Daily, they fulfill a duty that can be extremely challenging, but allows absolutely no room for error. This program recognizes their dedication to the safety of the children in PCAT member schools and to having a positive impact on their education and well-being.”

Godley-ISD-PCAT-35-web.jpgAbout PCAT

PCAT is the largest public school risk pool in the U.S. devoted solely to property and casualty exposures. Formed in 2003 to meet the unique property and casualty insurance needs faced by Texas schools, PCAT has grown to 140 members and more than $15 billion in school properties. PCAT is administered by North American Solutions. Loss prevention and claims administration are provided by Edwards Risk Management.

For Questions Regarding the PCAT Bus Driver of the Year Program Contact

Neil Gately
[email protected]
800.575.2657 (toll free)

Full List of PCAT Honorees

Blue - PCAT Regional Bus Driver of the Year recipient

Green - PCAT Statewide Bus Driver of the Year recipient

Red - Special Achievement Award



Alice ISD Armando Olivares
Allen ISD John Yoder
Alvin ISD Robyn Tacquard
Benavides ISD Feliz Rodriguez
Birdville ISD Dennis Daley
Bowie ISD Steven Shaw
Breckenridge ISD Chuck Dooley
Buna ISD Heather Fry
Canyon ISD Jimmy Heisler
China Spring ISD Ken Sandhoff
Coahoma ISD Lanny King
Connally ISD David Trowbridge
Corsicana ISD Dianne Gorman
Crosby ISD Dave Cook
Crystal City ISD Jesse Paulino
Denison ISD Larry Goodwin
Denver City ISD Dennis Rice
Donna ISD Juan M. Garza
Duncanville ISD Billy Johnson
East Bernard ISD Susan Kresta
Edinburg CISD Maria Dolores Reyna
El Campo ISD Ron Skinner
Floresville ISD Don Medford
Flour Bluff ISD Pat Wojciechowski
Forney ISD Richard Greenwood
Freer ISD Sylvia Leal
Frisco ISD Sal Anzualda
Gainesville ISD Kathy Hall
Georgetown ISD Susan Kinningham
Gladewater ISD Janet Mendez
Godley ISD Eugene Baldwin
Graham ISD Jimmy Senkel
Hardin ISD Brenda Lyle
Hardin-Jefferson ISD Antonia Jones
Hidalgo ISD Jaime Gaona
Huffman ISD Mike Lowery
Industrial ISD Eva Anderson
Kountze ISD Will Watkins
La Joya ISD Roberto Vela
La Vernia ISD Linda Fischer
La Villa ISD Ronald Tamez
Lackland ISD Oscar Sandoval
Liberty ISD Bertha Lopez
Lindale ISD Ron Hayes
Little Cypress - Mauriceville CISD Sherri Ellis
Lumberton ISD Shu Wang
Marble Falls ISD Ron Moore
Marlin ISD Keith B. Henry
Mathis ISD Ruben Medrano
McAllen ISD Michael Foster
Medina Valley ISD Harold Wyrick
Midlothian ISD Jackaline Fontaine
Mineral Wells ISD Valerie Hamner
Mission CISD Abel Barrios
Nacogdoches ISD Esperanza Flores
Palestine ISD Jerry Don Sims
Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ISD Antonio Medrano
Randolph Field ISD Albert Sandoval
Raymondville ISD Jose Gomez, Jr.
Round Rock ISD Erin Griffith
Santa Fe ISD Rhonda Hart
Sharyland ISD Anthony Cisneros
Silsbee ISD Paula Riggans
Springtown ISD Terri Honsberger
Stafford MSD Juanita Donjuan-Sanchez
Teague ISD Josh Ingram
Van ISD Shannon Bogue
Van Vleck ISD Deborah Munson
West Oso ISD Crystal Tyler
Wylie ISD Joe Sealey