You are using an oudated version of Internet Explorer!   Upgrade your browser for a better experience

PCAT Names Amelia B. Rubio 2018-2019 Statewide Bus Driver of the Year

From left, Name, Title, Amelia B. Rubio, Statewide Bus Driver of the Year, and Name, Title.Victoria, Texas, May 20, 2019 — Bus Driver Amelia B. Rubio was honored by Victoria ISD on Wednesday, May 15, as the 2018-2019 Statewide Bus Driver of the Year by PCAT.

Now in its 15th year, the PCAT Bus Driver of the Year program recognized 67 drivers as their district’s 2018-2019 Bus Driver of the Year. These awards are based upon multiple driver attributes including Leadership, Attitude, Perseverance, Student and Parent Relationships, and Technical Skill.

Of the 67 District honorees, five drivers were named 2018-2019 PCAT Regional Bus Drivers of the Year. The Regional designation represents an even higher level of achievement. The Statewide Bus Driver of the Year award is presented to just one PCAT school district bus driver and represents the highest level of dedication and accomplishment. 

Ms. Rubio was presented with a $1,000 check, a personalized jacket, a commendation and an engraved plaque from the PCAT Bus Driver of the Year program. A plaque commemorating Ms. Rubio’ achievement was also awarded to Victoria ISD.Amelia B. Rubio, Statewide Bus Driver of the Year

Agent Don Clark of Carlisle Insurance presented the award. Ms. Rubio has been a bus driver with Victoria ISD for 43 years. With Victoria ISD, she is recognized as a leader among her peers, known for her exceptional driving skills, rapport with her students, her great attitude and willingness to help others.

“We’re honored to recognize the effort, sacrifice and great care exhibited by school bus drivers throughout the PCAT program,” said Rick Edwards, President of Edwards Risk Management, Inc. “When I consider the heartfelt praise offered by other school bus drivers, supervisors, school staff, students and parents, it stands out in my mind that the accomplishments extend beyond competent driving. It also speaks volumes to these drivers’ humility, gentle spirits, gracious demeanor and servant hearts, even as many of them have dealt with their own life struggles.”

From left, Don Clark of Carlisle Insurance, Amelia B. Rubio, Statewide Bus Driver of the Year, and ???  Superintendent.

About PCAT

PCAT is the largest public school risk pool in the U.S. devoted solely to property and casualty exposures. Formed in 2003 to meet the unique property and casualty insurance needs faced by Texas schools, PCAT provides coverage for over $18 billion in school properties.  PCAT is administered by North American Solutions. Loss prevention and claims administration are provided by Edwards Risk Management, Inc.

For Questions Regarding the PCAT Bus Driver of the Year Program Contact

Ken Mason
800.575.2657 (toll free)

For PR only

Vivienne Kwon, Media Relations
713.364.9845 (office)

Full List of PCAT Honorees

Red indicates PCAT Statewide Bus Driver of the Year recipient. Green indicates PCAT Regional Bus Driver of the Year recipient.



Abilene ISD Mary Flores
Aledo ISD Penny Morgan
Alice ISD Raul Garcia
Allen ISD Ismael Boye
Alvin ISD Jean Sutton
Bellville ISD Gale Huffman
Benavides ISD Feliz Rodriguez
Birdville ISD Kevin Finch
Bowie ISD Bill Hollowell
Breckenridge ISD Kathy Taylor
Buna ISD Dwayne Hickerson
Burkburnett ISD Pami Bower
Burnet CISD Tom Milam
Canyon ISD Ed Higley
Carrollton Farmers Branch ISD Susan Berry
China Spring ISD Karen Gayden
Clarendon ISD Mary Ann Weatherford
Corsicana ISD Suzanne Falco
Crystal City ISD Bernardo Lerma
Denison ISD Mike McMahan
Donna ISD Maria Irene Ortega
Duncanville ISD Pam Wells
East Bernard ISD Ronnie Schmidt
Edinburg CISD Juanito Ramirez
El Campo ISD Vivian Brown
Floresville ISD Edward Bushmire
Flour Bluff ISD Jimmy Loven
Forney ISD Gladys Thompson
Frisco ISD Ken Schiumo
Gainesville ISD Loys Hobbs
Gladewater ISD Gerone Holmes
Godley ISD Amy George
Graham ISD George Plumlee
Hardin ISD Janita Rives
Hardin-Jefferson ISD Michele Kelley
Harlandale ISD B. Castro
Hempstead ISD Donall Watson
Industrial ISD Dorothy Walker
Judson ISD David Little
Kingsville ISD Rhonda Ramirez
Kountze ISD Sam Moffett
La Villa ISD Samuel Cantu
Lackland ISD Rebecca Macal
Lindale ISD Paul Gibbons
Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD Amy Picard
Lumberton ISD Debra Ryan
Marble Falls ISD Susan Rader
Marlin ISD Steve Johnson
Medina Valley ISD Maria Jasso
Midlothian ISD Linda Coleman
Mineral Wells ISD Rebecca Vaughan
Mission CISD Jimmy Garcia
Newton ISD Lucille Myers
Orangefield ISD Debbie Helton
Palestine ISD Gwen Brown
Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ISD Artemio Padilla
Rockwall ISD Cindy Kiser
Santa Fe ISD Darlene Roten
Silsbee ISD Velma Fontenot
Snyder ISD Candice Grimes
Springtown ISD Shawn Horton
Teague ISD Melanie Cooper
Uvalde CISD Edward McIntosh
Van Vleck ISD Judy Dykes
Victoria ISD Amelia Rubio
West Oso ISD Emily Miller
White Deer ISD Michael Cuellar