You are using an oudated version of Internet Explorer!   Upgrade your browser for a better experience

PCAT Names Paul Kerutis 2017-2018 Statewide Bus Driver of the Year

Paul Kerutis, Statewide Bus Driver of the YearAllen, Texas, May 1, 2018 — Special Needs bus driver Paul Kerutis was honored at the Allen ISD school board meeting on Monday, April 23, as the 2017-2018 Statewide Bus Driver of the Year by PCAT.

Now in its 14th year, the PCAT Bus Driver of the Year program recognized 69 drivers as their district’s 2017-2018 Bus Driver of the Year. These awards are based upon multiple driver attributes including Leadership, Attitude, Perseverance, Student and Parent Relationships, and Technical Skill.

Of the 69 District honorees, eight drivers were named 2017-2018 PCAT Regional Bus Drivers of the Year. The Regional designation represents an even higher level of achievement. The Statewide Bus Driver of the Year award is presented to just one PCAT school district bus driver and represents the highest level of dedication and accomplishment. 

Mr. Kerutis was presented with a $1,000 check, a personalized jacket, a commendation and an engraved plaque from the PCAT Bus Driver of the Year program. A plaque commemorating Mr. Kerutis’ achievement was also awarded to Allen ISD.

From left, Michelle Leasure, Assistant Transportation Director, Kyle Pursifull, Transportation Director, Paul Kerutis, Statewide Bus Driver of the Year, and Eileen Targac, Transportation Coordinator for Training and Safety.

PCAT representative Emil Studinka of Edwards Risk Management, Inc. and agent Carl Smith of Scarbrough, Medlin & Associates presented the award. When asked what the honor meant to him, Mr. Kerutis remarked “I’m part of a really strong team. I’m amazed that I get to begin every day knowing how lucky and blessed I am. I love the kids, and my job as their bus driver”.

“We’re honored to recognize the effort, sacrifice and great care exhibited by school bus drivers throughout the PCAT program,” said Rick Edwards, President of Edwards Risk Management, Inc.  “When I consider the heartfelt praise offered by other school bus drivers, supervisors, school staff, students and parents, it stands out in my mind that the accomplishments extend beyond competent driving. It also speaks volumes to these drivers’ humility, gentle spirits, gracious demeanor and servant hearts, even as many of them have dealt with their own life struggles.”

From left, Carl Smith of Scarbrough, Medlin & Associates, Emil Studinka of Edwards Risk Management, Inc., Louise Master, School Board President, Paul Kerutis, Statewide Bus Driver of the Year, and Dr. Scott Niven, Superintendent.

About PCAT

PCAT is the largest public school risk pool in the U.S. devoted solely to property and casualty exposures. Formed in 2003 to meet the unique property and casualty insurance needs faced by Texas schools, PCAT provides coverage for over $18 billion in school properties.  PCAT is administered by North American Solutions. Loss prevention and claims administration are provided by Edwards Risk Management, Inc.

For Questions Regarding the PCAT Bus Driver of the Year Program Contact

Neil Gately
[email protected]
800.575.2657 (toll free)

For PR only

Vivienne Kwon, Media Relations
[email protected]
713.364.9845 (office)
832.687.3247 (cell)

Full List of PCAT Honorees

Red indicates PCAT Statewide Bus Driver of the Year recipient. Green indicates PCAT Regional Bus Driver of the Year recipient.



Abilene ISD Misty Miller
Alice ISD Sandra Garcia
Allen ISD Paul Kerutis
Alvin ISD Martha Dick
Bellville ISD Sammie Cloud
Benavides ISD Feliz Rodriguez
Birdville ISD Teresa Carrillo
Bowie ISD Tom Ivey
Burnet CISD Mike Gibson
Canyon ISD Brian Cooper
China Spring ISD Mark Kelly
Clarendon ISD Terri Seale
Corsicana ISD Paul Cottar
Crosby ISD Paula Gay
Crystal City ISD Betty Garza
Denison ISD L J Hutchens 
Denver City ISD Harley Taff
Donna ISD Carlos A. Hinojosa
Duncanville ISD Gary Young
East Bernard ISD John Heimann
Edinburg CISD Gerardo Garcia, Jr.
El Campo ISD Glenna Bechdol
Floresville ISD Leslie Osburn
Flour Bluff ISD Tanya Osburn
Forney ISD Sharon McBrayer
Frisco ISD Gilbert Moreno
George West ISD Alonzo Carvajal
Georgetown ISD Henrietta Cantillo
Gladewater ISD Sherry Floyd
Godley ISD Robert Chilton Vaughan
Graham ISD Catherine Kamper
Hardin-Jefferson ISD Melinda Decaney
Huffman ISD Janice Henslee
Industrial ISD William "Bubba" Vickery
Judson ISD Pan Filita Hernandez
Kingsville ISD Jimmy Grant
Kountze ISD Colette Kalina
La Vernia ISD Christine Newsome
La Villa ISD Juan Campos
Lackland ISD Maria Pompa
Liberty ISD Dustin Vollert
Lindale ISD Troy Harris
Lumberton ISD Teresa Sciandra
Marble Falls ISD Paula Smith
Marlin ISD David Woodson
Mathis ISD Pamela Vallejo
McAllen ISD Manuel Martinez
Medina Valley ISD David Maddox
Mineral Wells ISD Jennifer Stephenson
Mission CISD Carlos Cuellar
Nacogdoches ISD Richard Russell
Newton ISD Jana Norton
Orangefield ISD Phyllis Paul
Palestine ISD Janet McCreary
Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ISD Noel Gonzalez
Randolph Field ISD Yolanda Harris
Raymondville ISD Jose Hernandez, Jr.
Rockwall ISD T. Landon McClellan
Santa Fe ISD Jennifer Gordon
Silsbee ISD Ruby Scott
Skidmore-Tynan ISD Pat Hartman
Springtown ISD Roy Rodriguez
Stafford MSD Vanessa Lloyd
Teague ISD Felicia Hancock
Uvalde CISD Tracie Quiroz
Van Vleck ISD Radonna Huron
Victoria ISD Clark Ellison
West Oso ISD Joe Martinez
White Deer ISD Steve Cox