You are using an oudated version of Internet Explorer!   Upgrade your browser for a better experience

PCAT Names Diehl 2014-2015 Statewide Bus Driver of the Year

PCAT-BDOY-Diehl-1.JPGLIBERTY, Texas, December 17, 2014 — Keeping the children safe on her bus is her first and foremost priority, and Tuesday night at the Liberty ISD school board meeting, Ms. Jane Diehl was honored for it as the 2014-2015 Statewide Bus Driver of the Year by PCAT.

Now in its 11th year, the PCAT Bus Driver of the Year program recognized 69 member drivers as their district’s 2014-2015 Bus Driver of the Year. These awards are based upon multiple driver attributes including Leadership, Attitude, Perseverance, Student and Parent Relationships, and Technical Skill. Of the 69 District honorees, six drivers were named 2014-2015 PCAT Regional Bus Drivers of the Year. This designation, reserved for a smaller group of District Bus Driver of the Year recipients, represents an even higher level of dedication and accomplishment.

On Tuesday night, Ms. Diehl was presented with the 2014-2015 PCAT Statewide Bus Driver of the Year award. This designation is awarded to one PCAT school district bus driver and represents the highest level of dedication and accomplishment. 

Ms. Diehl was presented with a $1,000 check, a personalized jacket, and an engraved plaque from the PCAT Bus Driver of the Year program. Robert Ward, Liberty ISD Director of Maintenance and Operations, read excerpts from some of the nominations for Ms. Diehl and commended other drivers for their contributions to the success of the student transportation operation.

Tom Linklater of NAS and PCAT Representative Neil Gately presented Ms. Diehl with the award on behalf of PCAT. Ms. Diehl responded, “I just don’t know what to say. This will buy a lot of flour!” Her statement was in regard to her well-known bread ministry. For years, Ms. Diehl has baked and delivered several loaves of bread each week for people who are dealing with illness, bereavement or some other difficulty, or who are newcomers to Liberty. Many friends and family members who were present echoed the sentiment that she has driven the bus for 35 years as a true calling, because of her love for children.

“Bus drivers set the tone for learning,” said Mr. Gately. “The driver is often the first school representative the students see each morning, and the last one they see in the afternoon. Daily, they fulfill a duty that can be extremely challenging, but allows absolutely no room for error. This program recognizes their dedication to the safety of the children in PCAT member schools and to having a positive impact on their education and well-being.”

Please see full list of PCAT honorees below.

About PCAT

PCAT is the largest public school risk pool in the U.S. devoted solely to property and casualty exposures. Formed in 2003 to meet the unique property and casualty insurance needs faced by Texas schools, PCAT has grown to 137 members and more than $15 billion in school properties.

For Questions Regarding the PCAT Bus Driver of the Year Program Contact

Neil Gately
[email protected]
830.693.2728 (office)
Connect with us on Facebook

For PR only

Yong Kwon, Media Relations
[email protected]
713.364.9845 (office)
832.687.3247 (cell)


Full List of PCAT Honorees

Blue indicates PCAT Regional Bus Driver of the Year recipient, and green indicates PCAT Statewide Bus Driver of the Year recipient.



Abilene ISD Ronnie Hodges
Alice ISD Rogelio DeLeon
Allen ISD Frank Englert
Alvin ISD Tonia Easton
Aransas Pass ISD Robin Sheffield
Benavides ISD Lucio Perez
Birdville ISD Veronica Mash
Bowie ISD Lou Ann Gregory
Burnet CISD Clint Connolly
Canyon ISD Tim Thiessen
Cedar Hill ISD Karla Stanford
China Spring ISD Michael Petrich
Connally ISD Alicia Waits
Corsicana ISD Bobby Whitehead
Crosby ISD Felicia Bernard
Crystal City ISD Armando Gonzales
Denison ISD John Huffenberger
Denver City ISD Kathy Baker
Donna ISD Pedro Rodriguez
Duncanville ISD Donald Harris
East Bernard ISD Renee Thomas
Edinburg CISD Jose Martinez
El Campo ISD Jerry Gensler
Floresville ISD Gilbert Arbizu
Flour Bluff ISD Martha Gonzalez
Forney ISD Kenneth Miller
Friendswood ISD Christina Herzog
Frisco ISD Catherine Brenna
George West ISD Carolina Ruiz
Georgetown ISD Dodie Marin
Gladewater ISD Boyd McDaniel
Godley ISD Carolyn Brigance
Graham ISD Mike Bahl
Hardin ISD Bobby Matocha
Hardin-Jefferson ISD George Jordan
Industrial ISD Valerie Tillman
Kingsville ISD Eutimia Ibarra
Kountze ISD Charlena McNeeley
La Joya ISD San Juanita Lopez
La Vernia ISD Jonathan Arrambidie
La Villa ISD Juan Campos
Lackland ISD Monica Romero
Liberty ISD Jane Diehl
Lindale ISD Edye McGee
London ISD Gilbert Saenz
Lumberton ISD Earl Woodring
Marble Falls ISD Doug Kuhles
Marlin ISD Lorye Carter-Reed
Mathis ISD Oscar Vega
McAllen ISD Mary Garza
Midlothian ISD Jean Parker
Mineral Wells ISD Mike Cross
Mission CISD Jose De La Fuente
Nacogdoches ISD Riley Adams
Newton ISD Linda Bevil
Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ISD Roberto Espinoza
Raymondville ISD Frank Cardona
River Road ISD Dan Powers
San Diego ISD Hilda S. Chapa
Santa Fe ISD Ron Willoughby
Sharyland ISD Ben Harper
Silsbee ISD Janis Banks
Skidmore-Tynan ISD Rose Reyna
Springtown ISD Shirley Knight
Stafford MSD Greg Jerkins
Tuloso-Midway ISD Irma Guerrero
Van ISD Joe Jones
Van Vleck ISD Daisy Gammage
West Oso ISD Ann Jorglewich